You are using an older unsupported web browser. If you run into problems registering through this application, please update your browser to a more recent and secure version before submitting a support request. Latest Internet Explorer », Chrome », Firefox ».

2023 Men's Open Qualifier

Qualifier Location: Delta Thistle Curling Club

The Men’s BC Championship shall be a 6-day event in Chilliwack from January 10th-15th, 2023 consisting of 12 teams competing in a triple knockout preliminary round format and a 4-team page playoff format. The A and B qualifiers will advance to the 1V2 playoff game and the 2 C qualifiers will advance to the 3V4 playoff game. Games will be 10 ends in length. The successful team will represent BC at the 2023 Brier, March 3-12th, 2023 in London, Ontario. The 12 teams shall qualify for the BC Championships and be seeded into the draw as follows:

• Seed 1: The defending champion (3 of 5 players must be returning from 2022 BC championship lineup).
• Seeds 2-4: The top three teams on the Canadian Team Ranking System as determined by points accrued from September 1st, 2022 to December 12th, 2022, provided that the team plays in a minimum of two out of province CTRS events.
• Seeds 5-7: The top three BC Curling Tour teams as determined by points accrued at events within BC from September 1st,2022 to December 12th 2022, who have competed in a minimum of three (3) BC tour events.
• Seeds 8-9: The two winners from the BC Curling Tour Berth Spiels being held in Dawson Creek and Kamloops.
• Seeds 10-12: The A, B and C qualifiers at the open qualifier taking place December 9th-11th, 2022.

* Points from zone, provincial and national events do not count towards the CTRS Berths or the BC Tour Berths.
** If a CTRS or BCCT berth is earned by teams outside of the top 100 on the CTRS standings, the berth(s) will be added to the open qualifying event.
*** If the berth spiels are won by teams who are not eligible for the berth (i.e. out of province entry, women’s entry, etc.) the berth(s) will be added to the open qualifying event.

• Individuals shall be bona fide residents of BC prior to Sept. 1 of the year preceding the championship season. For the 2022-2023 season this is Sept. 1, 2022. (With the exception of now permitting players from any other Canadian location to be part of the team as a “Free Agent” and any player who has moved away from the province or territory they were born in can be part of the team due to their “Birthright” status)
• Updated residency eligibility rules for the Brier can be found HERE.
• Fifth players are permitted at all levels of play up to and including national events.
• If a game is tied after the ten ends allotted, the teams shall play extra ends until a winner is declared.
• During a ten-end game, a mandatory break of five minutes shall take place at the conclusion of the fifth end. In televised games teams shall play a minimum of eight ends unless permission to concede is granted.

Total with tax

Registration closed

Starts on
Dec 09, 2022
Ends on
Dec 11, 2022
Registration opens on
Jul 01, 2021 at 12:00 am
Registration closes on
Oct 09, 2022 at 11:59 pm
Team restriction
Age range